--arate auto CLI default behaviour

Discussion of the HandBrake command line interface (CLI)
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
Gnd0
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2015 9:27 am

--arate auto CLI default behaviour

Post by Gnd0 »

I've been a happy HandbakeCLi user for years now and I want to help to push that project further to success! This includes improving the documentation!

A major drawback at the moment is the CLI documentation which does not point out the default behaviour on CLI level in every case.

My question is: "--arate auto" was a valid option in older versions but this seems not be the case anymore, according to this recent log file entry:

Code: Select all

Invalid sample rate auto, using input rate
Clould you please tell me what the default behaviour is when I don't specifiy --arate:

Code: Select all

   -R, --arate             Set audio samplerate(s)
                           (8/11.025/12/16/22.05/24/32/44.1/48 kHz)
Best regards
Gnd0

User avatar
BradleyS
Moderator
Posts: 1764
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 12:16 pm

Re: --arate auto CLI default behaviour

Post by BradleyS »

The default behavior is to use whatever is set in the preset, which should be Auto for the default CLI preset and most/all of the official presets.

We should probably look at making --arate auto a valid setting.

User avatar
BradleyS
Moderator
Posts: 1764
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 12:16 pm

Re: --arate auto CLI default behaviour

Post by BradleyS »

Fixed on master branch: https://github.com/HandBrake/HandBrake/ ... da4afeb4f3
https://github.com/HandBrake/HandBrake/ ... e2b06d64ec

It seems auto was still valid, but triggered that useless warning since 1.0.0.

Post Reply