Disable autocrop

Discussion of the HandBrake command line interface (CLI)
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
BTJustice
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:39 am

Disable autocrop

Post by BTJustice »

How can I disable autocrop? I am using HandBrakeCLI.exe to convert .MPG recording from GB-PVR to XviD files.

Here is the code in my batch file I am using...

Code: Select all

"C:\Program Files\HandBrake\HandBrakeCLI.exe" -i %1 -o "%~dp1%~n1.avi" --format avi --encoder xvid --two-pass --aencoder lame --ab 128 --crop 0:0:0:0 --decomb
IF EXIST "%~dp1%~n1.avi" DEL %1
EXIT
Here is what I see when I run the batch file...

Code: Select all

E:\>"C:\Program Files\HandBrake\HandBrakeCLI.exe" -i "E:\Vietnam The 10,000 Day
War_20090704_05300600.mpg" -o "E:\Vietnam The 10,000 Day War_20090704_05300600.a
vi" --format avi --encoder xvid --two-pass --aencoder lame --ab 128 --crop 0:0:0
:0 --decomb
HandBrake 0.9.3 (2008112300) - http://handbrake.fr/
2 CPUs detected
Opening E:\Vietnam The 10,000 Day War_20090704_05300600.mpg...
Scanning title 1...
+ title 1:
  + vts 0, ttn 0, cells 0->0 (0 blocks)
  + duration: 00:30:58
  + size: 720x480, aspect: 1.33, 29.970 fps
  + autocrop: 0/0/12/24
  + chapters:
    + 1: cells 0->0, 0 blocks, duration 00:30:58
  + audio tracks:
    + 1, Unknown (MPEG) (2.0 ch)
  + subtitle tracks:
Encoding: task 1 of 2, 1.42 % (51.46 fps, avg 57.07 fps, ETA 00h16m03s)
autocrop runs regardless it seems. How can I disable it?
TedJ
Veteran User
Posts: 5388
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 11:25 pm

Re: Disable autocrop

Post by TedJ »

According to the CLI Guide you add --crop 0:0:0:0 to your command line.
BTJustice
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:39 am

Re: Disable autocrop

Post by BTJustice »

As you can see by my code, it is already there. autocrop runs regardless for whatever reason.
jbrjake
Veteran User
Posts: 4805
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 1:38 am

Re: Disable autocrop

Post by jbrjake »

What are you even talking about? What code? All you've given us is a non-verbose log and a shell command. What is anyone supposed to be seeing here when you're not giving us anything but scan data? You've chosen not to include the -v option that would tell you anything about the actual encode, so I don't know how you're reaching this conclusion.
BTJustice
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:39 am

Re: Disable autocrop

Post by BTJustice »

The first post has two code entries. The first of which has --crop 0:0:0:0 so what are YOU talking about.
BTJustice
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:39 am

Re: Disable autocrop

Post by BTJustice »

Oh, and as you can see by the second code in the first post, autocrop is activated even though I explicitly told it not to by using --crop 0:0:0:0 in the first code.
User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 10357
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: Disable autocrop

Post by s55 »

Your log does not show that. It only shows values that could be used, not if It was used.

You need post a verbose log.
BTJustice
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:39 am

Re: Disable autocrop

Post by BTJustice »

Code: Select all

E:\>"C:\Program Files\HandBrake\HandBrakeCLI.exe" --input "E:\All in the Family_
20090706_08000830.mpg" --output "E:\All in the Family_20090706_08000830.avi" --f
ormat avi --encoder xvid --two-pass --aencoder lame --ab 128 --crop 0:0:0:0 --de
comb --verbose
[17:15:00] hb_init: checking cpu count
[17:15:00] hb_init: starting libhb thread
HandBrake 0.9.3 (2008112300) - http://handbrake.fr/
2 CPUs detected
Opening E:\All in the Family_20090706_08000830.mpg...
[17:15:00] hb_scan: path=E:\All in the Family_20090706_08000830.mpg, title_index
=1
[17:15:00] scan: trying to open with libdvdread
[17:15:00] dvd: not a dvd - trying as a stream/file instead
[17:15:00] file is MPEG DVD Program Stream
[17:15:00] add_audio_to_title: added MPEG audio stream 0xc0
[17:15:00] scan: decoding previews for title 1
[17:15:00] scan: audio 0xc0: mp2, rate=48000Hz, bitrate=384000 Unknown (MPEG) (2
.0 ch)
Scanning title 1...
Scanning title 1...
[17:15:01] scan: 10 previews, 720x480, 29.970 fps, autocrop = 0/0/10/22, aspect
4:3, PAR 8:9
[17:15:01] scan: title (0) job->width:608, job->height:480
[17:15:01] libhb: scan thread found 1 valid title(s)
+ title 1:
  + vts 0, ttn 0, cells 0->0 (0 blocks)
  + duration: 00:30:58
  + size: 720x480, aspect: 1.33, 29.970 fps
  + autocrop: 0/0/10/22
  + chapters:
    + 1: cells 0->0, 0 blocks, duration 00:30:58
  + audio tracks:
    + 1, Unknown (MPEG) (2.0 ch)
  + subtitle tracks:
[17:15:01] 2 job(s) to process
[17:15:01] starting job
[17:15:01] work: sanitizing track 0 mixdown Dolby Pro Logic II to Stereo
[17:15:01] job configuration:
[17:15:01]  * source
[17:15:01]    + E:\All in the Family_20090706_08000830.mpg
[17:15:01]    + title 1, chapter(s) 1 to 1
[17:15:01]  * destination
[17:15:01]    + E:\All in the Family_20090706_08000830.avi
[17:15:01]    + container: AVI
[17:15:01]  * video track
[17:15:01]    + decoder: mpeg2
[17:15:01]      + bitrate 7000 kbps
[17:15:01]    + frame rate: same as source (around 29.970 fps)
[17:15:01]    + dimensions: 720 * 480 -> 608 * 464, crop 0/0/0/0
[17:15:01]    + filter
[17:15:01]      + Deinterlaces selectively with yadif/mcdeint and lowpass5 blend
ing (default settings)
Encoding: task 1 of 2, 3.51 % (69.58 fps, avg 64.85 fps, ETA 00h13m49s)
Deleted User 11865

Re: Disable autocrop

Post by Deleted User 11865 »

BTJustice wrote:

Code: Select all

[17:15:01] scan: 10 previews, 720x480, 29.970 fps, autocrop = 0/0/10/22, aspect
Here you can see the values HandBrake determined when scanning the title…
BTJustice wrote:

Code: Select all

[17:15:01]    + dimensions: 720 * 480 -> 608 * 464, crop 0/0/0/0
…and the actual values used for the encode (0/0/0/0)
BTJustice
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:39 am

Re: Disable autocrop

Post by BTJustice »

If I have autocrop disabled with 0:0:0:0 then why is HandBrakeCLI changing the dimensions? Am I missing something?
jbrjake
Veteran User
Posts: 4805
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 1:38 am

Re: Disable autocrop

Post by jbrjake »

...because your source is anamorphic and you're not instructing HandBrake to encode anamorphically...
Post Reply