copy:dts but which one?

Discussion of the HandBrake command line interface (CLI)
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
plittlefield
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 10:03 am

copy:dts but which one?

Post by plittlefield » Fri Sep 28, 2018 2:31 pm

What is the command line for copying a DTS track, but just the 6 channel version (out of a possible 3)?

e.g.

Code: Select all

Audio #1
ID                                       : 2
ID in the original source medium         : 4352 (0x1100)
Format                                   : DTS
Format/Info                              : Digital Theater Systems
Format profile                           : MA / ES Matrix / Core
Codec ID                                 : A_DTS
Duration                                 : 1 h 38 min
Bit rate mode                            : Variable / Constant / Constant
Bit rate                                 : 4 147 kb/s / 1 509 kb/s / 1 509 kb/s
Channel(s)                               : 7 channels / 7 channels / 6 channels
Channel positions                        : Front: L C R, Side: L R, Back: C, LFE / Front: L C R, Side: L R, Back: C, LFE / Front: L C R, Side: L R, LFE
Sampling rate                            : 48.0 kHz
Frame rate                               : 93.750 FPS (512 SPF)
Bit depth                                : 24 bits
Compression mode                         : Lossless / Lossy / Lossy
Stream size                              : 2.84 GiB (13%)
Title                                    : Surround 5.1
Language                                 : English
Default                                  : Yes
Forced                                   : No
Original source medium                   : Blu-ray
I would like the third option - Constant, 1 509 Kb/s, 6 channels, Front: L C R, Side: L R, LFE please.

Thanks,

Paully

rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 2848
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: copy:dts but which one?

Post by rollin_eng » Fri Sep 28, 2018 2:35 pm

Could you please post your HB logs, instructions can be found here:

https://handbrake.fr/docs/en/latest/hel ... y-log.html

plittlefield
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 10:03 am

Re: copy:dts but which one?

Post by plittlefield » Fri Sep 28, 2018 2:48 pm

Sorry, I haven't even tried this yet, which is why I asked in the first place!

I will try with just

Code: Select all

--first-audio --aencoder copy:dts
to see what happens and grab the log when it's done... ofcourse, if it does what I want I'll be closing this topic anyway.

I was only asking :-)

User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 11927
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: copy:dts but which one?

Post by Rodeo » Fri Sep 28, 2018 3:11 pm

That's just one track with 3 substreams. HandBrake doesn't do core-only extraction unless your source is a Blu-ray folder structure.

plittlefield
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 10:03 am

Re: copy:dts but which one?

Post by plittlefield » Fri Sep 28, 2018 3:23 pm

OK, thanks... just out of interest, what are substreams and how do they work with equipment? (sorry, newbie alert :-)

plittlefield
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 10:03 am

Re: copy:dts but which one?

Post by plittlefield » Fri Sep 28, 2018 3:31 pm

Also, is copy:dts allowed in an MP4 container, because it looks like HB is mixing down to AAC...

Code: Select all

[15:52:32]  * audio track 1
[15:52:32]    + decoder: English (DTS-HD MA) (5.1 ch) (track 1, id 0x1)
[15:52:32]      + samplerate: 48000 Hz
[15:52:32]    + mixdown: Dolby Pro Logic II
[15:52:32]    + dither: triangular
[15:52:32]    + encoder: AAC (libfdk_aac)
[15:52:32]      + bitrate: 128 kbps, samplerate: 48000 Hz
...and this is my command line...

Code: Select all

/usr/local/bin/HandBrakeCLI --input /home/paully/Wall-E (2008).mkv --main-feature --chapters 1 --crop 0:0:0:0 --encoder x264 --encoder-preset veryslow --encoder-tune film --audio-lang-list eng --first-audio --aencoder copy:dts --output /home/paully/Wall-E (2008) 1080p x264 dts chapters 1.mp4
Full log here...

https://pastebin.com/LQQYtwx2

Thanks,

Paully

plittlefield
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 10:03 am

Re: copy:dts but which one?

Post by plittlefield » Fri Sep 28, 2018 3:55 pm

Ah ha!

OK, so I chose the second audio track, not the first one and now it passes through...

Code: Select all

  + audio tracks:
    + 1, English (DTS-HD MA) (5.1 ch) (iso639-2: eng)
    + 2, English (DTS) (5.1 ch) (iso639-2: eng), 48000Hz, 1536000bps
    + 3, English (AC3) (2.0 ch) (Dolby Surround) (iso639-2: eng), 48000Hz, 192000bps
    + 4, Francais (DTS) (5.1 ch) (iso639-2: fra), 48000Hz, 1536000bps
    + 5, Nederlands (DTS) (5.1 ch) (iso639-2: nld), 48000Hz, 1536000bps
    + 6, Nederlands (AC3) (5.1 ch) (Dolby Digital EX) (iso639-2: nld), 48000Hz, 640000bps

Code: Select all

[16:41:32]  * audio track 1
[16:41:32]    + decoder: English (DTS) (5.1 ch) (track 2, id 0x2)
[16:41:32]      + bitrate: 1536 kbps, samplerate: 48000 Hz
[16:41:32]    + DTS Passthru
...I will test it later tonight.

Paully

User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 11927
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: copy:dts but which one?

Post by Rodeo » Fri Sep 28, 2018 5:36 pm

Indeed, if my memory serves me right, MakeMKV does extract the DTS core substream to a separate track by default. In which case the second track is indeed the core substream.

HandBrake's copy:dts will not pass DTS-HD tracks through by design. If you wanted to pass the full lossless stream through, then you'd use copy:dtshd instead :)

rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 2848
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: copy:dts but which one?

Post by rollin_eng » Fri Sep 28, 2018 5:49 pm

Beware that DTS in MP4 is not very well supported.

plittlefield
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 10:03 am

Re: copy:dts but which one?

Post by plittlefield » Sat Oct 06, 2018 4:27 pm

Noted. My Plex seems happy enough with the resulting file... it is using Direct Play, playing DTS through the Logitech AMP correctly and it sounds great!

Post Reply